BETTER LATE THAN NEVER: YOU KNOW WHAT I DID LAST SUMMER – I ATE A SHIT TONNE OF FOOD IN MIAMI.

hi!

I’ve been talking about starting this blog for a long time. Since at least May 2016. This means that I have a pretty huge collection of food photos that I’ve taken at some point in the past ‘for my food blog!’.

Amongst those pictures are the ones that I took when I went to Miami for a week back in July, with the intention of posting about all the good, exclusively-American food I came across.

Now that I’ve stopped being such a lazy bitch and this food blog is up and running, babay! I decided it would be a real shame if those pictures never saw the light of day aka the internet.

This post goes out to everyone who is maybe going to visit Miami and wants to know what the deal is, or to the rest of you who are like me and find American food culture equal parts interesting and hunger pain-inducing. hereeee we go!

*these events took place long ago so please forgive me and my drug addled brain if we cannot remember exact locations/restaurant names. We’re DOING OUR BEST.

 

Visiting Miami: A Travel Guide

step 1: stumble into your hotel after a long-haul flight all the way from London. Check out the hotel room, turn on the TV and decide against going out in favour of staying in and ordering room service because THEY HAVE BRAVO ON THIS TV.

Order two starter portions of buffalo wings and two bottles of green juice, prepare to watch Real Housewives in bed followed by Watch What Happens Live like you truly deserve.

Eagerly wait for room service to arrive and when it does, realise that they add a crazy amount of tax in America and so you’ve effectively just paid about £60 – $70 – for pretty dry chicken wings and pre-bottled green juice. I’m not joking or exaggerating.

Fuck you Loews!

step 2: wake up the next morning bright and early, ready to take on the day in a new city. Realise it’s still only 8.30am. Head to the nearest McDonalds and gird your loins because you are about to experience AMERICAN MCDONALDS BREAKFAST!!

Now, there were a lot of options when it came to selecting a breakfast meal in Mcdonalds. Some of them the same as the UK, some of them not. I can’t remember specifics (sorry), and i’m not going to google it and then write it here like I did it from memory because THAT’S NOT AUTHENTIC.

One thing that does stand out in my mind is that they had large cups of orange juice with ice, as opposed to the bottled of Tropicana we get here in England. I preferred it.

That wasn’t a great description so for reference it looked like THIS:

24327

When it came to ordering I didn’t really know what I was doing or what I was looking for. All I knew was that I wanted it to be something that you can’t get in England.

So I ordered a McGriddle. Again, I didn’t know what that was, just that I’d never seen it before. I’m going to show you a picture now. Ready? Ok, here it is:

img_8825

That’s right. I ordered a sausage, egg and cheese McGriddle. A tasty wake up call if I ever saw one. I held it in my hands and felt it sitting all warm, soft and pretty beneath its waxy paper wrapper. I opened it up:

 

img_8832

SHE’S BEAUTIFUL!!!

Ok this picture was clearly taken after I’d had a couple of bites but LOOK AT THE LAYERS.

I swear to god you guys, my mouth is truly watering while I type this. I am pathetic but can you blame me??

 

img_8830

There’s the money shot. Oh god I need to eat something the second I’ve finished typing up this post. Look at the glistening sausage meat, the way that gross but also perfect american cheese has melted on to everything it’s touching. omg.

But but but.. I haven’t even told you the best part: THE MCGRIDDLE IS BASICALLY A PANCAKE SANDWICH. THAT BREADY LAYER IS PANCAKES AND.. STEADY YOURSELVES.. THE PANCAKES..ARE STUFFED.. WITH MAPLE SYRUP.

I’m just going to say that again – THE PANCAKES. ARE STUFFED. WITH MAPLE. SYRUP.

As you can probably imagine, the McGriddle was a work of art – a harmonious mix of sweet and salty. If you live in a country where they serve these at McDonalds breakfast I envy you. I want to be you.

If you’re going to visit a country where they serve these at McDonalds breakfast PLEASE GET ONE, you will not regret it. Also, if you want to place one in a vacuum pack bag and bring it back to England for me by way of thanks for showing you the light, thats fine too. Just leave a comment and we can decide on a mutual meeting place ☺

 

And thus, my Miami adventure had begun. At this point I have noticed that if I dedicate one single post to all the food I ate in Miami, you’re going to stop reading. Because there was a lot – and I have a lot to say. So I’m going to split these in to multiple parts – and once you’ve mentioned the McGriddle how do you top that?

On that note, see ya in the next one!!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

