YOU KNOW WHAT I DID LAST SUMMER: PART 4

Ok, brace yourselves:

I hereby announce that this is the final installation of the Miami Food Diaries you’ve been following so closely.

I’m going to end these chronicles on a high note by dedicating this post to everybody’s favourite meal of the day: breakfast food.

 

You’ll be shocked to read that I actually remember the name of the establishment I’m about to write about. I found this place online after googling ‘best fried chicken in Miami’ on the day I was due to fly home.

The place is called Yardbird. Whether or not they actually serve the best fried chicken in Miami, I have no idea. But it was pretty damn good.

I believe I went to Yardbird on a Sunday at around 11am – prime brunch time.
The whole place was packed and there was a queue lined up outside the door (probably a good sign).

After a good hour wait (during which I found a TASCHEN book store that HAD A SALE ON), we were finally seated and I was practically salivating in excitement.

So, without further ado:

img_8975

I truly cannot express my joy when these devilled eggs were placed down in front of me. I have wanted to try these forever and ever and now here I was in Miami, being presented with an entire plate of them and they were TOPPED WITH SMOKED TROUT ROE.

The roe actually sort of ended up being a downfall because the smokey flavour was a little overpowering (and I do mean a little, because they were near perfect).

My only other fault would be maybe the yolk part could be creamier? But what do I know, I’d never even tried them before.

 

NEXT UP

img_8976

Shrimp and Grits with tomatoes, shredded bits of ham, red onions and topped with some kind of veal glaze.

This was my second time eating shrimp and grits, both during this trip and ever.

(I’ll get on to my first experience further down in this post.)

Yardbird’s version of shrimp and grits was – if my memory serves me right – pretty great.

I’m not well-versed in what shrimp and grits is typically supposed to be, and so I’m not sure if the shredded ham and red onions are standard BUT THEY SHOULD BE.

The glaze was sweet and tangy and the perfect contrast to the cheesy grits. I’ve read before that some people view grits as a comfort food and I can see why.

Last but not least:

img_8978

LOOK AT IT. THE WAFFLES. THE CHICKEN. THE MELON. IT ALL SOUNDS SO WRONG BUT IT ALL TASTES SO RIGHT.

Why do Americans do food so much better?

It’s because they’re willing to take risks.
Sometimes those risks pay off (see above picture), and sometimes those risks are just plain disgusting (marshmallow fluff? in a jar?? really??).

The little pot you see on the left is, of course, maple syrup. To the right there is a lil pot of a beautiful buffalo/honey glazey sauce.

I didn’t think I’d ever really want waffles and watermelon placed on the same plate buuuut it was actually a really nice, refreshing break inbetween bites of syrupy waffles and salty fried chicken (oh my god my mouth is watering while I type this and I’m basically making that Homer Simpson ughhhhh noise).

This little find was a great ending to a trip filled with perfect, highly calorific foods. You could even say that I am of the opinion that the chicken and waffles at Yardbird are MAKING AMERICA GREAT AGAIN.

 

As this post comes to a close, I want to give a special mention to possibly the best restaurant I visited in Miami:

Joe’s Stone Crab.

I’d read about this place over and over again on the internet, and after a bit of research I decided that I wasn’t leaving Miami without a visit.

Joe’s Stone Crab has been around since 1913 and started as a mere lunch counter on Miami Beach. Fast forward to today and it’s a highly-esteemed, much in-demand fully fledged restaurant. The next time I go to Miami (whenever that might be) I literally want to get a taxi straight from the airport to this restaurant.

The menu is exactly how you’d imagine it, typical upscale American restaurant food – various cuts of steak, baby back ribs, chopped livers, wedge salads, keylime pie and an extensive selection of seafood – most importantly, the crab.

This crab was the best, best, best crab I’ve ever tasted. We ordered giant crab legs which were served on a bed of ice. They were so fresh and, unlike most crustacean eating experiences, there was SO MUCH MEAT TO BE EATEN.

The shrimp and grits at Joe’s was one of the best side dishes I’ve ever eaten. I wish shrimp and grits was a thing in England.

The downside to this story, my friends, is that I left my phone in the hotel to charge on this particular night. That means no pictures – and for that I’m truly sorry.

I urge you to look past my lack of picture evidence and promise me that if you’re ever lucky enough to be in a 100 mile radius of Joe’s Stone Crab then GO THERE.

They don’t take reservations so get there early (around 7) and aim to go on a week day.
It’s so worth the wait though, I absolutely promise you.

 

And with that, the Miami Food Diaries has reached it’s end. I hope you’ve enjoyed this badly recollected series of personal food experiences that happened many months ago.

Bye!

Leave a Reply

